cheri palmer

GCISD is proud to share the news that iUniversity Prep teacher Cheri Palmer has been named one of Texas' three science finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Palmer and the other Texas finalists will be recognized by the State Board of Education on Friday, November 18.

The PAEMST, established by Congress in 1983, are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. The awards recognize those teachers who have both deep content knowledge of the subjects they teach and the ability to motivate and enable students to be successful in those areas.

Palmer is in her 23rd year teaching, and in her seventh year at iUniversity Prep where she teaches fifth grade science, as well as seventh grade on-level and advanced math. She received her bachelor’s degree and teaching credential from Fresno State University and her master's in Math and Science from Fresno Pacific University.

“Being one of the three finalists in Texas for the science PAEMST award is heartwarming to me because it affirms and recognizes all of the amazing work that our administrators, office staff, teachers, parents and students do on a daily basis at iUniversity Prep,” Palmer said. “I am extremely fortunate to be one piece of the puzzle in our outstanding Owl Family at iUP. I would love nothing more than to bring home the hardware to share with this group of educators because my work family exemplifies excellence and are all deserving of recognition.”

A national selection committee will now review the three finalists from Texas and choose one to be a PAEMST awardee. Each Presidential Awardee receives a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a paid trip to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

The National Science Foundation, under the direction of the White House, organizes the national selection committee which is composed of prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers, district-level personnel, and classroom teachers.