Laurie Alsobrook, M.Ed.

Teacher
Laurie.Alsobrook@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Smoked Salmon

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving - 
I love the cool weather, getting together with family and friends, reflecting on all the blessings of my life and then – eating a fabulous meal!
Someone I admire:  Saint Francis of Assisi and Mother Teresa.  Francis taught that actions speak more loudly than words and Mother Teresa demonstrated the power of unconditional love to give dignity to all persons.  
My Favorite Place:  Home with my husband

My Life Motto: We can do no great things in this life, only small things with great love." - Mother Teresa   

Tina Alwin

Teacher

Christina.alwin@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Pizza and Ice Cream

Favorite Season: Summer, I love 95+ degree weather.

Favorite Holiday:  Thanksgiving
Someone I admire: My husband and my Dad. I married a guy like my Dad.
My Favorite Place: Sitting on the patio of a resturant eating with my husband.

My Life Motto: Teaching; "I teach for free, I get paid to grade papers." Life; "Live Honestly"

Kiley Armstrong, M.Ed.

Teacher
Kiley.Armstrong@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Anything and everything as long as I have good company!

Favorite Season: College football season! Gig 'em!

Favorite Holiday:  Thanksgiving
Someone I admire: Ruth Reichl! She is passionate, bold, and unafraid to challenge the status quo.
My Favorite Place: In a hammock!

My Life Motto: "It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities." - Dumbledore

Melissa Baker

Teacher
Melissa.Baker@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Fajitas

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  My mom and dad are two people I admire so much. My mom is the most selfless person I know. She taught me to put others before myself. My dad works harder than anyone else I've ever met and he instilled that work ethic in me from when I was very young.
My Favorite Place:  Mountains

My Life Motto: "Knowing Is Not Enough; We Must Apply. Wishing is Not Enough; We Must Do." - Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe 

Courtney Barton

Teacher / Writer

Courtney.Barton@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Tex-Mex or Steak (rare!)

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Holiday:  Taco Tuesday
Someone I admire: Rosalind Franklin, Marie Curie, Amelia Earhart
My Favorite Place: Cinque Terre, Italy

My Life Motto: Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.

Charlotte Beakley

Teacher

Charlotte.Beakley@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Mexican

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving
Someone I admire:  My mother.
My Favorite Place:  A cabin in the mountians or by a peaceful lake.

My Life Motto: I believe in you... you've got this!

Andres Betancur

Teacher
Andres.Betancur@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Sushi

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Holiday:  Summer
Someone I admire: Farmers from around the world who’s humble work feeds us all. 
My Favorite Place: Mountains (Continental Divide) (Salida, Colorado is awesome) and South America.

My Life Motto: Be open to growth.

John Bowman, M.A.

Teacher

John.Bowman@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Sushi, Mexican or a well prepared pizza

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Holiday: Opening Day
Someone I admire:  Branch Rickey
My Favorite Place:  Boulder, CO

My Life Motto: “Even fun things are serious."

Amy Briggs

Teacher

Amy.Briggs@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Sushi

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  My former teachers - they dedicate their lives to educating and building relationships with EVERY student. They are the reason I am a teacher, too!
My Favorite Place:  Texas Hill Country

My Life Motto: Never stop learning!

Favorite Food: Authentic brick oven pizza

Favorite Season: Summer

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  Alan Brunson (pastor)
My Favorite Place:  Boise, Idaho

My Life Motto: Own it. 

Lucas Burch

Teacher
Lucas.Burch@gcisd.net

Jen Carlin

Teacher

Jennifer.carlin@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Hotdish!

Favorite Season: Winter (Sweater Season)

Favorite Holiday: Valentine's Day
Someone I admire:  My mom. The woman relentlessly loves unconditionally. My siblings and I are unbelievably fortunate to have her as our mom.
My Favorite Place:  Coziest chair in the room.

My Life Motto: Love people for where they are in life... and that includes yourself.

Neely Carter

Teacher

Neely.Carter@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Fajitas

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  Dr. Peter Schlumbohm - inventor of the Chemex
My Favorite Place:  Seattle, WA

My Life Motto: "Worthiness doesn't have prerequisites." - Dr. Brene Brown

Crystal Castillo, M.Ed.

Teacher / Writer
Crystal.Castillo@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Mexican - fajitas

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday:  Christmas
Someone I admire: My Nana
My Favorite Place: Any beach in the Caribbean.

My Life Motto: Always do your best!

Jarad Clarke

Teacher

Jarad.Clarke@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Italian

Favorite Holiday: New Years' Day
Someone I admire:  My Father
My Favorite Place:  The Beach

My Life Motto: Actions speak louder than words.

Mallory D'Aliso

Teacher

Mallory.Wade@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Chips & Queso, Pizza

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving
Someone I admire:  My mom and dad
My Favorite Place:  Walt Disney World

My Life Motto: Dreams don't work unless you do!

Heather Davis, M.A.

Teacher
Heather.Davis@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Chocolate Covered Almonds

Favorite Season: Summer in California but I have not experienced Summer in Texas so I may change my mind.

Favorite Holiday:  Easter
Someone I admire: My husband. He always makes the right decisions, obviously he married me! We have been together since Junior High!
My Favorite Place: The Beach

My Life Motto: Be who God made you to be. People who matter don't mind and people who mind, don't matter!

Kira Dehnel, M.Ed.

Teacher

Kira.Dehnel@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Tex-Mex and cookie two step ice cream

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving and Christmas when extended family gathers
Someone I admire:  My mom. She's the strongest person I know. She's a fighter and a hard worker. If I'm half the person and mom she is, then I'm doing a good job.
My Favorite Place:  Locally: My house, as long as there is a/c. In general: The top of Mt. Vesuvius.

My Life Motto: Be kind. Experience other perspectives.

Seth Duban, M.Ed.

Teacher

Seth.Duban@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: A little bit of everything.

Favorite Season: Winter

Favorite Holiday: Christmas/Chanukah time!
Someone I admire:  Marie Curie, Rosalind Franklin, Winston Churchill
My Favorite Place:  Home with my wife, cats and playing computer games!

My Life Motto: Flying is simple; just throw yourself at the ground and miss.

Amanda Fedorko

Teacher
Amanda.Fedorko@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Ice Cream

Favorite Season: Winter

Favorite Holiday:  Christmas
Someone I admire: My husband, for many reasons but especially because he has such a unique way of looking at problems and finding solutions.
My Favorite Place: Wherever my family is, but especially if there's snow.

My Life Motto: "Nothing is more precious than being in the present moment. Fully alive, fully aware." - Thich Nhat Hanh

Chad Hannon

Teacher

Chad.Hannon@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Mexican Food

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  Sam Houston
My Favorite Place:  Big Bend National Park and San Diego

My Life Motto: Remember the Alamo.

Nikki Harbison, M.A.

Teacher
Nicole.Harbison@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Popcorn and coffee

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Holiday:  Christmas
Someone I admire: C. S. Lewis, a man willing to seek truth and, once found, to show others the path
My Favorite Place: Beside my husband and in a good book

My Life Motto: “To act justly, to love mercy and to walk humbly”

Ashley Harden, M.Ed.

Teacher

Ashley.Harden@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Steak

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  I admire my Grandmommy. She has persevered through life with strength and grace and is the Spiritual rock of my family.
My Favorite Place:  On the beach.

My Life Motto: I Aspire to Inspire Before I Expire.

Lindsay Hoerig

Teacher
Lindsay.Hoerig@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Italian

Favorite Season: Winter

Favorite Holiday:  New Year's Eve. I love the idea of one chapter closing and a new one opening!
Someone I admire: Taylor Swift! I've been a fan since I was a pre-teen and my fangirling has evolved into a true respect and admiratoin.
My Favorite Place: Florence, Italy

My Life Motto: You can never be overdressed or over educated!

Michelle Holt, M.Ed.

Teacher
Michelle.Holt@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Dark Chocolate

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday:  Christmas
Someone I admire: Eleanor Roosevelt
My Favorite Place: Loch Ness, Scotland

My Life Motto: “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”

- Eleanor Roosevelt

Jessica Horning, MBA, MS

Teacher

Jessica.Horning@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Enchiladas

Favorite Season: Summer

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  I really admire Bill Gates. Not only did he innovate ways for us to accomplish home computing, but he is also a philanthropist, spending billions of dollars every year for global education and health programs. I think it is admirable to give away what you don't have to just to make the world a better place.
My Favorite Place:  At home with family.

My Life Motto: Celebrate your success but learn lessons from failure.

Daniela Jones

Teacher
Daniela.Jones@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Chocolate in any and all forms!

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday:  Thanksgiving
Someone I admire: My parents because they left their home country, Switzerland, with two small children (my sister and I) and built a new life and successful company in Texas.
My Favorite Place: I love being anywhere in nature: the mountians, the beach, the woods.

My Life Motto: "Vulnerability is the birthplace of innovation, creativity and change." - Brene Brown, PhD.

Tammy Long

Teacher
Tammy.Long@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  Toasted cheese sandwhich and hot chocolate pudding.

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday:  Thanksgiving
Someone I admire: Mother Teresa
My Favorite Place: Black Hills, SD

My Life Motto: You are enough today, now where do you want to go from here?

Katherine Martinez, MFA

Teacher

Katherine.Martinez@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Korean

Favorite Season: Summer

Favorite Holiday: Christmas Eve
Someone I admire:  I admire my oldest brother, Dr. Carlos Chapa, he's my guide, role model, and he makes a difference everyday by helping others.
My Favorite Place:  Kyoto, Japan

My Life Motto: "Do or do not, there is no try." - Yoda

Kelsie Matthews, M.S.

Teacher

Kelsie.Matthews@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Macaroni and Cheese!

Favorite Season: Fall, I love scarf and boot wearing weather!

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  JK Rowling
My Favorite Place:  Colorado

My Life Motto: "Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter, and those that matter don't mind."

- Dr. Seuss

Laurel McClanahan, M.Ed.

Teacher
Laurel.mcclanahan@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  All food from many countries

Favorite Season: Summer

Favorite Holiday:  Christmas
Someone I admire: Malala Yousafzai,  from Pakistan, she fought the Taliban to get an education 
My Favorite Place: Hawaii

My Life Motto: Live, Laugh, Love As You Go Onward and Upward.

Suzanne McFarland

Teacher

Suzanne.McFarland@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: All things Mexican!

Favorite Season: Fall, when the leaves are changing color

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  Jaime Escalante
My Favorite Place:  My kids' athletic and musical events

My Life Motto: Bloom where you're planted

Amy Mount

Teacher / Writer 

Amy.Mount@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Ice Cream... is there any other food?

Favorite Season: Spring, I love the rebirth and newness of everything!

Favorite Holiday: Christmas! I am the Christmas Queen.
Someone I admire:  Mother Theresa for her selfless dedication to others in need.
My Favorite Place:  The beach! Imagine hot pink toenails sticking out of the sand.

My Life Motto: Never give UP!

Cheri Palmer, M.A.

Teacher

Cheri.Palmer@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Crab

Favorite Season: Summer

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  My Parents
My Favorite Place:  The Magical World of Harry Potter

My Life Motto: "While most are dreaming of success, Winners wake up and work hard to achieve it."

Kiley Pearson

Teacher
Kiley.Pearson@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Mexican - I could live on just tortillas and cheese

Favorite Season: Winter - I love sweaters, coats and fires

Favorite Holiday: Christmas for so many reasons!
My Hero:  Chris Kyle and the many other men and women who have, are and will serve our country - We couldn’t live the way we do without them.
My Favorite Place: The mountains... any mountains

My Life Motto: Never stop wondering. Never stop wandering.

Jerry Price, M.B.A.

Teacher
Jerry.Price@gcisd.net

Favorite Food:  All food from many countries

Favorite Season: Summer

Favorite Holiday:  Christmas
Someone I admire: Malala Yousafzai,  from Pakistan, she fought the Taliban to get an education 
My Favorite Place: Hawaii

My Life Motto: Live, Laugh, Love As You Go Onward and Upward.

Steven Rains

Teacher

Steven.Rains@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Tacos

Favorite Holiday: Are there tacos? Everyday!
Someone I admire:  Brain Salge, teaching craft
My Favorite Place:  Oceanside, OR

My Life Motto: Every student can learn and let's have fun doing it!

Zach Scheer

Teacher

Zach.Scheer@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: BBQ

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  My wife. She sees what is possible when others don't.
My Favorite Place:  Alaska

My Life Motto: You're never done learning.

Rachel Seldon

Teacher

Rachel.Seldon@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Italian Food, especially Spaghetti

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Halloween
Someone I admire:  My husband - he is supportive, passionate about his work, dedicated and driven but most importantly, he is a loving spouse and a wonderful father!
My Favorite Place:  Maui

My Life Motto: Enjoy the little things in life because one day you will look back and realize they were the big things.

Ashley Solano

Teacher

Ashley.Solano@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Mexican

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  My husband
My Favorite Place:  Colorado

My Life Motto: Education is the most powerful weapon in which you can use to change the world. 

Trelawny Shepherd, M.Ed.

Teacher

trelawny.shepherd@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Habachi

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Christmas - I love spending time with my family!
Someone I admire:  My mom. She is generous and kind, and has lived a life dedicated to loving those around her.
My Favorite Place:  Pyramid Point, Michigan

My Life Motto: Fall forward.

Miller Walker, M.Ed.

Teacher

William.Walker@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Any kind of pasta!

Favorite Season: Spring

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  All of my past teachers who helped to shape, inspire, and encourage me during my time as a student.
My Favorite Place:  Inside of an airplane on my way to the next adventure.

My Life Motto: "It is nice to be important, but it is more important to be nice."

Marci Ward, M.A.

Teacher

Marci.Ward@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Queso

Favorite Season: Fall

Favorite Holiday: Thanksgiving
Someone I admire:  Malala Yousafzai
My Favorite Place:  the mountains

My Life Motto: "Be somebody who makes everybody feel like a somebody." -Kid President

Desiree Weiche

Teacher

Desiree.Weiche@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Marshmallows and Thai Food... not together

Favorite Season: Fall (AKA: Rock Climbing Season)

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  My Husband
My Favorite Place:  Hueco Tanks State Park, El Paso, Texas

My Life Motto: Keep Climbing

Daniel Wennersten

Teacher
Daniel.Wennersten@gcisd.net

Favorite Food: Depends on the day (Tex-Mex, T-bones, Ice Cream)

Favorite Season: Late Fall and Early Spring

Favorite Holiday: Christmas
Someone I admire:  Thomas Edison (never gave up)
My Favorite Place:  Home (anywhere cool weather and growing things meet)

My Life Motto: Success is not a destination, but the sum of the choices we make each day.